Google Drive users won’t need to manually delete their discarded files moved to the Trash. The latest update to Google Drive will automatically delete those items after 30 days beginning October 13, Google published in a blog post.
Previously the deleted files would stay in the trash section for indefinite period of time unless the user manually deleted them. Other Google apps like Gmail already has this feature, which makes Drive consistent across G Suite products for users.
Files and folders that are already in the Trash will remain there for 30 more days from October 13. Google Drive will display a banner highlighting details of the policy change and in-app notifications in Drive, Docs and Forms.